Generated May-06 15:34:57 GMT

You are not logged in.

Name: Password:

Or: Recover Account (Forgotten Password) / Register new user / Re-send validation email / Main Page


Website Discussion, Bug Reports and Abuse Reports

A question of ettiquette

This thread is open.

Posted by svearike This user is a supporter of the site. 2013-11-01 08:51:40 GMT

I would like to ask whether the following two actions in the last few turns of a game by one player is acceptable behaviour in a competitive game of Brass. The actions in question were:

1. taking a rail action in the 6th turn of the rail era to build a rail link between Birkenhead and Ellesmere Port; this action was not to the benefit of the player because he wasn't in a position to build a shipyard, but another player in the game was (and subsequently built a a shipyard there.

2. in the last turn of the game, the same player did a sell action, flipping his two cotton mills using both of the Birkenhead shipyard player's ports; in this situation, one of the two cotton mills could have been flipped using a third player's port who happened to be in last place. The guy whose second port was flipped subsequently won the game.

The player in question had a choice in both situations, and chose options which greatly benefited the player who was in contention to win the game, thereby directly helping that player to win. The question I ask is this: is this behaviour acceptable ettiquette for games on this site? I would be interested to hear people's views on this matter.

Posted by grouchysmurf This user is a supporter of the site. 2013-11-04 20:41:23 GMT


My bet is that those two are one individual.

Posted by JMW 2013-11-06 17:20:12 GMT

I think it all depends on the context.

The guidance on the site is fairly clear, you play to win, or this isn't possible, to get the best possible position and or points score.

The and / or part is a bit unclear, and personally I go for 1) Wining 2) Best possible position 3) highest points score 4)Smallest points difference from the likely winner (if unlikely to win) / biggest points difference from the second place player (if likely to win). Other people may arrange their priorities slightly differently and sometimes you misjudge things, but the general intention is obvious. Helping other players is sometimes inevitable, but deliberately sacrificing your own position to help one other player is not acceptable.

Looking at the game log of a game which you played in and matches example you give, I think there is actually a perfectly innocent explanation. The single rail link to Birkenhead was actually built using a Birkenhead card, and the player who did it had shipyards developed and ready to build, so he clearly intended to build a single rail link then a shipyard, but played the wrong card. A stupid mistake yes, but something we have all done.

On the choice of which port to flip on the last turn, he moved first, and was probably in 3rd place. The 4th place player was quite close in points but the 1st and 2nd were quite a way ahead, so the best he could do was finish 3rd. In those circumstances it seems completely reasonable to chose not to use the 4th placed players port and not risk being caught and finishing 4th.

The eventual winner was very lucky but that is all I think.

You must log on in order to post messages.

Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.