Generated Oct-23 04:18:55 GMT

You are not logged in.

Name: Password:

Or: Recover Account (Forgotten Password) / Register new user / Re-send validation email / Main Page

ADVERTISEMENT

General Brass Discussion

Two Overbuilds in One Turn

This thread is open.

Posted by BullCityFats 2009-06-16 02:01:22 GMT


Ha! In game 2867 I did two coal overbuilds in the same turn. Oldham wasn't connected anywhere, so I did an overbuild there, and the coal didn't fill the supply, so I was able to do another overbuild elsewhere. Probably not the best move, but still satisfying (I've done the coal/iron double overbuild before, but this seems a lot more difficult).

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-06-16 02:26:36 GMT


Ah. It may be satisfying, but er, you're not actually supposed to be able to do that. I will have to fix the program and close this loophole.

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-06-16 02:34:12 GMT


This oversight in the program has now been fixed.

Posted by Tub This user is a translator. 2009-06-16 12:38:56 GMT


Why wouldn't you be able to do that ?
The only condition for overbuilding is that the track is empty, right ?

Posted by Tub This user is a translator. 2009-06-16 12:44:55 GMT


Oups, my mistake.
Too bad :p

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-06-16 12:46:36 GMT


No, there must also be no coal anywhere on the board. From page 5 of the first edition Brass rulebook, under "Building over Industry counters": "You can build on top of another player's coal mine with one of your own only if there are no coal cubes in Lancashire or on the Coal Demand track. Your coal mine must have a higher Tech Level [than] the one you are replacing."

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-06-16 12:47:13 GMT


Didn't see your second post before I posted.

Posted by BullCityFats 2009-06-16 22:22:01 GMT


Oops. I didn't realize it was illegal when I did it, otherwise I would have placed this in teh bugs forum.

Posted by Yxklyx 2009-06-30 18:45:51 GMT


Hmm, "You can build on top of another player?s coal mine with one of your own only if there are no coal cubes in Lancashire or on the Coal Demand track"

The conjunction "or" is used here which logically means _either_ condition must be in place; however, I think the intent was that the conjunction should be an "and". So, the rule should read "...no coal cubes in Lancashire and the Coal Demand track".

Posted by BullCityFats 2009-06-30 18:49:19 GMT


No, it is correct if written. It says "only if there are no coal cubes in Lancashire or on the Coal Demand track", which is a single condition; the or applies to the two locations in which coal cubes must not be found. Your interpretation would be valid if it said "only if there are no coal cubes in Lancashire or there are no coal cubes on the Coal Demand track".

You must log on in order to post messages.

Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.