Generated May-25 01:09:08 GMT

You are not logged in.

Name: Password:

Or: Recover Account (Forgotten Password) / Register new user / Re-send validation email / Main Page

ADVERTISEMENT

General Brass Discussion

Modified Coal Overbuilding Rules?

This thread is open.

Posted by Aeek 2009-05-31 11:28:33 GMT


are not to be found in the FAQ.
Does this mean I need to dig out my copy of Brass to find them?

Posted by greg909 2009-05-31 13:46:18 GMT


If "Modified Coal Overbuild Rules" is turned on, then in addition to the restrictions set out in the Brass rules for building over an opponent's Coal Mine or Iron Works, the following restriction is in effect: You may not build over an oppponent's Coal Mine if there is an unused space in the same location where a Coal Mine may be built. What is the justification for this rule? It is that I do not feel that it makes sense that new industry would be built over older but still-profitable industry if there were unused prime land available for building. In game terms, the purpose of the rule allowing players to build over their opponents' Coal Mines is to ensure that if the board gets sufficiently crowded with industry and Coal is sufficiently in demand, then restrictions to building Coal Mines get less strict so that more Coal can come into the game. If there is still a free space where a player can build his Coal Mine, then the board can't be all that crowded. However, this rule is not part of the Brass "Rules As Written", and so this additional rule is an option you can choose for your games. Note: When you have a choice between building over your own (or an orphan - see above) Coal Mine and building over an opponent's in the same location, you are perfectly free to build over the opponent's, assuming of course that there are no unused spaces in that location where a Coal Mine could be built and that all of the other requirements for building over an opponent's Coal Mine are met.

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-05-31 14:04:02 GMT


for clarity, the paragraph posted by greg is from the faq.

Posted by Aeek 2009-06-01 13:51:44 GMT


I had Match Case enabled so Firefox found no match for modified in the FAQ page. A visual scan would have found it, especially in the bold title!

Posted by Frabac 2011-07-27 20:37:52 GMT


Excuse me, why wouldn't be the same for Iron? Why Coal only?

Posted by Spacey2 2011-07-28 15:39:42 GMT


Because, there are no locations on the Lancaster or France maps with two places to build iron, so the rule won't have any effect on iron even if applied to iron too.

You must log on in order to post messages.

Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.