Generated Oct-23 04:18:05 GMT

You are not logged in.

Name: Password:

Or: Recover Account (Forgotten Password) / Register new user / Re-send validation email / Main Page

ADVERTISEMENT

General Brass Discussion

Rules question

This thread is closed.

Posted by Golux13 2009-01-26 21:19:12 GMT


It's been pretty well established that on the first turn of the game (and any other time you don't have any industry tiles on the board), you can use an industry card to place that type of industry in any legal space. That's how it's implemented here, and that's what Martin Wallace has said in a forum on BGG.

BUT.

Does this mean it is permissible to use an Iron industry card to place an Ironworks on the board in a location that is not connected to a source of coal? I can't imagine how this could be the case -- unlike iron, coal requires a transport system to get it to the locations where it is to be used. The Demand Track is only filled if a coal mine is established that is connected to a constructed port; wouldn't the same apply in reverse (i.e., you can't use the Demand Track to source coal unless it's connected to the location in question)?

I've posted to BGG to see if I can get a solid confirmation from Martin Wallace, but I'm curious if anybody here thinks differently.

Posted by Mamluk 2009-01-27 00:16:28 GMT


No, the other rules still apply- so you need a source of coal to build an ironworks.

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-01-29 18:53:46 GMT


Mamluk is correct. The only thing that can be overriden when you have no tiles on the board is "personal" connectivity - your "personal network" is considered to contain every town on the board, until you actually build somewhere. This doesn't however mean that every town on the board is connected to an unflipped coal mine or a constructed port.

You cannot post messages in threads that are closed. Additionally, you must log in in order to post messages in any thread.

Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.