You are not logged in.
Maintenance is currently disabled.
This thread is open.
Posted by jazzdream 2010-02-05 14:41:02 GMT
I've noticed that bug a lot of times a while ago but never troubled myself to report while I was playing. And then it always skkipped my mind afterward. May be it has been reported and solved since. But just in case.
When you try to sell cotton, sometimes the option "Foreign market" is available in the listbox while the display tells the user that there is no more available foreign market anymore.
My guess would be the bug arise when the foreign market is closed not by overselling, i.e by having
the game calculate that "it is not possible for the next sell not to oversell". In that case, the display correctly shows that no more foreign market is available. However the listbox still provide the opportunity to sell out of Lancashire, albeit the sell will not pass and the player's action will end.
Sorry if that particular bug has been corrected since.
Great job for this site.
Posted by Hammerite 2010-02-05 18:45:27 GMT
I reviewed the code and it looked like the move interface incorrectly displayed the option to sell via the distant market when you're selling cotton from your second (or third etc.) cotton mill. I don't think it has anything to do with the automatic zeroing.
I fixed it, I think (even if someone had selected "Distant Market" when it should not have been there, he ought in theory to have been given an error message on submitting his move anyway.)
Posted by EbonFalcon 2010-04-12 17:45:05 GMT
Not sure if this is related or not.
I have noticed that when selling cotton if I sell to a local port first and then sell to a foreign market and draw a tile large enough to go to no demand the cotton mill still flips (and sales end) but if I sell to a foreign market as the first sale and the tile results in no demand then the mill does not flip.
I believe that the rule states that if you wind up with no demand it should not flip. The implication being that no demand is not functioning correctly when it is reached on a second or later sale.
Posted by Hammerite 2010-04-12 19:07:44 GMT
If it's behaving the way you describe, then yes, it's getting it wrong. Could you point me to the game where you have seen this happen?
Posted by EbonFalcon 2010-04-20 21:05:13 GMT
Ah, I spotted it more than once but in both cases it was a "No tile can be drawn that does not result in No More Demand" and I had not noted it explicitly.
Posted by Hammerite 2010-04-20 22:01:36 GMT
I think when I looked at this, I noticed that some of the game logs weren't working, so it prompted me to look and figure out why, and how to fix them. The fact that relevant logs weren't working probably goes some of the way to explaining why you didn't spot it.
Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.