You are not logged in.
This thread is open.
Posted by Alex 2009-02-18 19:49:40 GMT
The game is this: http://wargamessoc.union.shef.ac.uk/brass/board.php?GameID=834
I am conected to Liverpool (i have industries there), so I'm conected to Birkenhead then, and there is a port on Ellesmere Port, so i can transport coal to Ellesmere Port in order to build a rail link between Ellesmere Port and Birkenhead ... but the game says that I can not do it ... ???
I think this is a bug :)
Posted by Alex 2009-02-18 20:24:32 GMT
Ooops, sorry, the rules says: "The virtual link does NOT allow a player in Liverpool to build the link out of Birkenhead" ... so I'm wrong.
Posted by Hammerite 2009-02-19 00:46:00 GMT
Yes, the virtual link only affects building of industries (and even then it only adds the ability to build in Birkenhead in certain circumstances, NOT in Liverpool, unless the Reverse Virtual Connection option is active).
Posted by Alex 2009-02-19 09:43:02 GMT
The reverse rule is written on the rules of the new edition of Brass Hammerite, this option should be checked to be as close to the original as possible ;)
Thank you for response :)
Posted by Hammerite 2009-02-20 17:14:01 GMT
I'm not sure what you mean - are you saying that in the 2nd edition Brass rulebook, the Virtual Connection is specified as allowing a player to build in Liverpool with a Port or Shipyard card if he has built the rail link to Birkenhead or the Shipyard in Birkenhead? I don't own a 2nd edition copy, and don't have access to a copy of the rulebook, so I don't know how it phrases things.
The first edition rulebook (here) is slightly vague on the point, and could be interpreted as allowing reverse use of the VC, but it was clarified by Martin Wallace to only permit one-way use of the VC, on his clarifications page here.
Posted by Alex 2009-02-23 11:34:59 GMT
"are you saying that in the 2nd edition Brass rulebook, the Virtual Connection is specified as allowing a player to build in Liverpool with a Port or Shipyard card if he has built the rail link to Birkenhead or the Shipyard in Birkenhead? "
Posted by Hammerite 2009-02-23 13:13:59 GMT
Well I will have to ask Martin about this at some point.
Posted by Alex 2009-02-24 10:22:53 GMT
From the english 2nd edition rules:
"if you either have a link to Birkenhead or have built in Birkenhead, you can use an appropiate Industry card to build a por or a shipyard in Liverpool."
Posted by drabel 2009-02-25 22:16:41 GMT
I've always question your "Reverse Link" rule here, but as it would seldom come up, let it slide. However the statement you give above w/link as justification:
"The first edition rulebook (here) is slightly vague on the point, and could be interpreted as allowing reverse use of the VC, but it was clarified by Martin Wallace to only permit one-way use of the VC, on his clarifications page here."
I belive Martin's statement:
"The virtual link between Liverpool and Birkenhead can only be used to allow a player to use an Industry card to build in Birkenhead. It cannot be used to allow you to build a rail link between Birkenhead and Ellesmere Port."
Simply addresses that one cannot use this link to satisfy the rail building requirement to Birkenhead, no where does he say you can't use the V-link to build in Liverpool.
But as it's your site (I just play here, because you let me...) you can apply the rule however you see fit.
Posted by Hammerite 2009-02-26 17:22:28 GMT
drabel - The first sentence reads, "The virtual link between Liverpool and Birkenhead can only be used to allow a player to use an Industry card to build in Birkenhead" (emphasis mine). I can see why you might interpret it as saying just that it only allows you to build industry, rather than saying you can only use it to build industry and only in a specific place. However, I choose to interpret each of the two sentences of the clarification as close to literally as I can, and so I've taken it to mean that the rule only allows building in Birkenhead, not in Liverpool. There is room for different preferences regarding the rule, which is why the optional variant rule exists allowing the VC to work "in reverse" as well.
See also this BoardGameGeek thread.
Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.