Generated Aug-15 08:39:36 GMT

You are not logged in.

Name: Password:

Or: Recover Account (Forgotten Password) / Register new user / Re-send validation email / Main Page

ADVERTISEMENT

Website Discussion, Bug Reports and Abuse Reports

Rules Question

This thread is open.

Posted by AmericanEagle 2009-02-09 22:24:06 GMT


Can you build a rail link from an external port (so you have access to coal) and the first link you make does not have an indusrty of your color in that area?

Example: Let's say you have an industry (Cotton Mill) in Burnley and you want to build a rail line from Yorkshire to Colne then to Burnley; Is this possible?

Posted by helio 2009-02-09 23:11:50 GMT


if i understood correctly, it's NOT possible. For each link you need COAL access and to be connected to one of YOUR INDUSTRY tiles.

Posted by AmericanEagle 2009-02-10 01:19:59 GMT


Coal would come from the Demand Track through the constructed port Yorkshire; connection to your industry would come from the two rail link from Yorkshire to Burnley. Is the two rail link one single action, where the above example would meet all the requirements OR is the two rail link two separate actions?

With this game (web) interface, the two rail link is broken down into two different actions; I was just wondering if it is only one single action (page 5)? Why am I asking, because I never knew that you could sell all your cotton to one port. That caught me by surprise as I thought each sell of cotton had to go to a different port. Then I noticed the wording on two rail links.

Thanks

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-02-10 13:58:05 GMT


You aren't considered to have industries built in the external locations.

When you build a canal or rail link, at least one end of the link has to be a location that you've built in or connected to. Before you've built your first link, you cannot be connected to an external location, nor do you have industries built there, so unless the other end of the link is somewhere you have built industry, you cannot build a link to or from the external location.

The only difference between an external location and a town like Blackpool that has no industry spaces is that an external location is considered to always have a constructed port for purposes of selling cotton to the distant market and moving coal.

Posted by Hammerite This user is an administrator. 2009-02-10 14:05:42 GMT


"With this game (web) interface, the two rail link is broken down into two different actions; I was just wondering if it is only one single action (page 5)?"

If you use one card to build two rail links at a cost of ?15 plus two coal, this is a single action. However, the two links are built sequentially, not in parallel. So the first link you build can enable you to build the second (and/or can legitimise your choice of coal for the second).

It is never possible to sell cotton through a given port using more than one cotton mill. But unless your sell action is causing a port to flip, you're not selling through that port. Selling to the distant market just requires you to be connected to one or more constructed ports. You can sell to the distant market using two or more mills despite said mills being connected to the distant market through the same solitary port, as you're not selling through the port, but rather to the distant market.

Posted by AmericanEagle 2009-02-10 14:46:34 GMT


Good thing you are coding this game, as I would have missed the multiple sell of cotton to the Distant Market through only one constructed port. Yet I would have coded the two rail link correctly, then would have had someone say that it's a single action (how do you deal with these nuts cases?). Either way , I would never win. It is good to have you Hammerite to keep us all straight on the rules.

That cotton selling has got me twice now, and I'm just wondering how many other things am I missing? So I had to ask the two rail link question, as I and just cannot think of any others questions at this time. OK one more, how do you get good at this game (just kidding)?

THANKS

You must log on in order to post messages.

Click here to return to the Board Page, or here to return to the Main Page.